October 2017
David Craig, PharmD | Editor


Congratulations to the 2017 Future Leaders in Pain Research Grant Winners!


Michael D. Burton, PhD
The University of Texas at Dallas
Dallas, TX
Uncovering Cell-Specific Mechanisms in Sex Differences in TLR4-Dependent Pain

Geoffroy Laumet, PhD
University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
Neuroimmune Mechanism of Latent Pain Sensitization in Response to Chemotherapy

Vani Mathur, PhD
Texas A&M University
College Station, TX
Social Mechanisms of Psychophysical Pain Disparities

These recipients were selected for demonstrating great merit and potential for success. This year's APS Future Leaders grants will be funded by the Mayday Fund and the Rita Allen Foundation. Two awards for $25,000 each are awarded to basic science pain research proposals and one award for $25,000 is awarded to a translational pain research proposal.

Rita Allen Award in Pain Now Open

The Rita Allen Foundation (RAF) and APS announce the 2018 Award in Pain. The RAF and APS may award two grants in the amount of $50,000 annually for a period of up to 3 years to those research proposals demonstrating the greatest merit and potential for success.

Candidates must have completed their training and provided persuasive evidence of distinguished achievement or extraordinary promise in basic science research in pain. Candidates should be in the early stages of their career with an appointment at faculty level. The entire award is to be allocated to projects specifically chosen by the recipient. Overhead is not supported.

Visit the APS website to learn more about the Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain, and submit your application by December 6, 2017. Recipients will be notified in February 2018.

Apply now!